Weight Training and Rehab

by sethosayher

So I bought 5 pound dumbbells today. Impressive, I know.  This is the first time I’ve ever owned a pair of weights, which feels pretty neat.

I’m still having trouble properly breathing through. Exhale when you press (the tough part), inhale when you come down. I think. I may have mixed those ups.

It got tough at some points but it was actually pleasurable to feel my shoulders ache as I lifted the weights. I can see how someone could get addicted to this, despite the pain.

Now, to another point.

Lately I’ve been nagged by this seed of a fear. An embryonic feeling, really. A part of me is terrified that I’m going to up and quit on this diet.

What if my old habits return? What if one day my resolve just crumples, and I indulge? What if I run out of cash to sustain my diet?

I once heard Craig Ferguson say that the best rehab places in the world don’t give you magic cures and assurances that you’ll be clean forever. It’s a daily struggle. There’s a chance to fall off the wagon all the time. While losing weight is hardly as dire as drug addiction, I think the same principal sometimes obtains here.

I can screw up at any moment. But things do get easier. Cravings ease, habits are broken, and while I can, at anytime, succumb, the chances of my doing so erode everyday I stick to the low carb life.

